Slow Food
Città Slow
Strada dei Vini
Photo Gallery
Video Gallery
Virtual Tour
Amelia is surrounded by a very rich and interesting natural environment. The integrity of the land and the beautiful scenery invite you to enjoy long leisurely strolls in the countryside.

Around Amelia, embedded in a narrow rocky valley, flows the Rio Grande, that collects the waters of a set of streams from the hills behind, passing under bridges with evocative names: Hell, Purgatory and Paradise. The Old Lake, a picturesque body of water formed after the damming of the Rio Grande with the medieval dam of "Para". Over time and due to sediment transport it has increasingly gained the character of a charming pond, surrounded by alders, willows and poplars. In this area, works are proceeding to recover tree species by replanting " old orchards ", once typical of the area.
A cycling path and pedestrian area were arranged on the banks according to the criterion of the "wellbeing path."

It’s the nearest village to Amelia, located on a small wooded hill from where one can enjoy a picturesque view. According to tradition, it was founded by fugitives from the island of Corsica due to Saracen invasions. In some 19th century documents it is reported as "castrum focis" and in fact it must have been an important medieval castle fought for continuously between Amelia, Narni and Todi. When Amelia was destroyed by Federico II, Foce took the opportunity to pass under the protection of Narni but later, thanks to the intervention of Pope Alexander VI it was returned to Amelia. A good part of the castle walls, a door, a tower and the Romanesque church of San Gregorio are still visible today. Noteworthy too are the Cistercian monastery and the adjoining Marian Sanctuary where an old fresco of a miraculous image of the Virgin is venerated. According to legend, it was discovered in a shrine under the hill.The village is situated at an altitude of 450 m above sea level and is 5 ½ km from Amelia, its patron saint is St. Gregory the martyr to whom the parish church is dedicated . The feast is celebrated on the second Sunday of May.
In ancient times it was called "Castrum Fornoli" today it is the most populous village of the municipality of Amelia. Its name is derived from the "ovens and furnaces" for baking pottery and building materials found since ancient times. The ancient city walls with towers and gates still exists but has been partly incorporated in new construction. A must visit is the wooded park of St. Silvestro where sports facilities and equipment with an adjoining dance floor were built. On top of the mountain there is the Romanesque church of the same name, with a fresco depicting St. Silvestro. Fornole lies at a height of 340 m above sea level and is about 5 km from Amelia. The patron saint of the village is St. Joseph, whose feast is celebrated at the end of May.
The road to Macchie starts just outside the city of Amelia, directly after the Roman bridge .Within a few kilometers this scenic road offers visitors a pleasant and relaxing stay in close contact with nature. The altitude of the village is 552m above sea level and it is 9 km from Amelia. The patron saint of the village is St. Nicholas of Bari.The village of Macchie, the ancient "castrum Machiae", surrounded by forests, is at the end of a smooth valley that it seems both to dominate and protect. It was born at the foot of an ancient castle of which remain some parts of the walls, the entrance door and a part of the tower. A walk through these historic remains lead you to a church, dedicated to St. Nicholas. Also interesting is a small church, nearby, dedicated to Our Lady of the hill. The area of Macchie is linked to the historic events of Amelia, to whom it belonged, and, given its location at the border, Macchie had often suffered destruction and fires because of disputes between Amelia, Todi and Alviano.
Montecampano, the old Castle "Mons.Campanus", went under the rule of Amelia in 1354. Just like Fornole, it suffered destruction and fires at the hands of Braccio da Montone (1412), Paolo Orsini and Niccolò Piccinini (1434) .From the original castle fortification remains some parts of the walls and towers.Montecampano is located 350m above sea level and is about 9 km from Amelia. Its patron saints are St. Eurosia and St. Ciriaco, the parish church is called St. Pietro in Vincoli and the village feast is celebrated on the first Sunday of May.
The ancient "Fortiano" still conserves long stretches of its medieval walls interrupted by round and square towers; it is even mentioned in the archives as "Castrum". In the past it was the subject of clashes between Amelia and Todi and Alviano. As a consequence it underwent numerous attacks and suffered a lot of destruction. It was a Common till 1830.Porchiano del Monte boasts quite an impressive Romanesque parish church; the interior columns are crowned with majestic capitals and there is a stone with traces of the blood from the Corpus Domini miracle of Bolsena.About a kilometer from the town is another Romanesque church with an adjoining bell tower dedicated to "The Trinity", it has interesting frescoes and lies in a very picturesque location. The parish church is dedicated to St. Simeon, as well as the patron saint, St. Cristina of Bolsena. The village feast is celebrated on the 24th of July, Santa Cristina.
Its etymology is still being studied, in the Middle Ages it was called "Castrum Sambucetoli" therefore Sanct Focetoli and in the eighteenth century" Sambucetoli" and finally Sambucetole. The earliest documents that mention it are those of the reforms of 1308 so its origin goes back to a previous period. In 1408 Francesco degli Atti, perhaps in retaliation for the siege of the castle of Sismano which belonged to him , devastated Sambucetole. Not much later, in 1413 it was completely destroyed by Paolo Orsini, captain of the militia of the patrimony of the Church.Since in 1425 the population hadn’t yet returned to the castle, the town of Amelia, concerned about not having a presence of active defense, entered into an agreement with Nicholas Artemisi, a nobleman from Amelia. He undertook the granting of privileges to allow 50 families of slaves to live in the castle, he succeeded, doing so with 34 families who in time have passed on their names, of Slavic origin. Of the ancient fortification remain some parts of the walls and towers. Sambucetole is 366m above sea level and about 9 km from Amelia. the town's patron saint is called Saint Matteo, whose feast is celebrated on May 16.
Collicelo lies on the wooded hill from whom it takes its name. It is the farthest village of Amelia but perhaps the most characteristic since it has almost entirely preserved its appearance of a medieval village with its gates and towers. In the past it was the last bastion of Amelia before the domains of Todi. A few hundred meters away are the remains of Castello di Canale, previously a possession of the powerful family of Clairvaux. The narratives say that it was conquered in 1462 and later, by order of Pope Pius II, it was completely dismantled. Going up among the woods, on the streets of Galisciano, after about a mile you reach the ruins of the convent of San Francesco, with adjacent to a chapel and a cave. Collicello is 435m above sea level and about 15 km from Amelia. Its patron saint is St. John the Evangelist to whom the parish church is dedicated. The feast is celebrated on the last Sunday of June.
2021, May 07
2021, April 06
2021, April 10
2021, March 31
from 25/09 to 08/11
Accommodation highlight